Proposed U.N. Treaty Should Have Gun Owners Up in Arms

What a topic for my first real blog post.  Actually, reading this article and thinking about the implications are what made me decide to start writing this blog, so I suppose I should be thankful.  There a few things that come to mind.

First, whether you are pro-gun (like me) or anti-gun (like President Obama and Secretary Clinton), you must admit that allowing the United Nations dictate our country’s policies regarding controlling firearms or anything else is very dangerous.  We have a constitution that was written nearly 250 years ago.  Some of you may think that makes some of the provisions in it out of date, and that’s fine.  That’s an argument for another time.  But the fact of the matter is, I refuse to believe we will allow a body of other nations to police us.

Secondly, as you read further into the article, you must see that our country is headed down the wrong path.  You are going to take my right to own a gun?  What do you think would happen if a conservative took a liberal’s right to free speech?  What you’re saying here is that it’s okay to pick and chose which parts of the constitution we adhere to.  I mean, it’s not like the 2nd Amendment wasn’t part of the original U.S. Constitution.  It’s called the Bill of Rights for a reason.  But, I digress.

Another part of the article I found interesting was the passage in which Hillary Clinton claimed to be a supporter of gun rights.  Really?  I mean, she does understand she doesn’t have to lie to make friends.  She does understand that you can’t get all the votes, right?  She’s a senator…a liberal senator…from the kingdom of liberaldom.  She’s from New “effing” York.  Nobody is allowed to have a gun there.  It nearly takes an act of congress to make that happen.  I have family in New York (state, not city) and they have told me about the gun laws there.  Pure and simple, it’s about as close as you can get to a ban on legal firearms…outside of California which is a whole other animal.  Of course, there’s one place that’s worse than both of them together.  No…not Canada.  I’m talking about the great state of Illinois, and more specifically, the place the man we’re forced to callMr. President hailed from.  After he was from Hawaii.  After he was from Kenya.  Of course, that’s all dependent on what you believe.

Anyways…did you know that until recently it was illegal…illegal…yes, I said illegal to own a handgun in the city of Chicago.  That’s right.  The city that the great savior came from banned ownership (and I’m not talking about carrying) I’m talking about owning a handgun.  It was illegal.  And you think this guy wants you to have guns.  He’s probably smoking Newports with the U.N. general assembly right now, trying to get them to pass this law..or treaty…or whatever you want to call it.

I own a gun.  I intend on buying more…quickly by the sounds of it before an assembly of non-Americans decides that I can’t.  But know this:  The day that they come knocking on my door to take my guns, I’ll shoot for the head because they’re probably wearing body armor.

